San Marcos Academy Apply Now Button

Les Davis
Athletic Director
Head Football Coach
DavisL@smabears.org
512.753.8067

Toby Wade
Associate Director of Athletics
Girls Softball Coach

WadeT@smabears.org

Megan Haynes
Athletic Trainer

Danny Davis
Head Baseball Coach
DavisD@smabears.org

Bill Miller
Boys Varsity Basketball Coach
MillerW@smabears.org

Adriana Gonzalez
Girls Varsity Basketball Coach
GonzalezA@smabears.org

Bear Bryant
Golf Coach
BBryant@smabears.org

Corey Schade
Boys Soccer Coach
corey.schade@txstate.edu

Hector Cortes
Girls Soccer Coach

Sherry Spaar
Swimming Coach
sspaar@gmail.com

Tamra Howe
Tennis Coach
MS Volleyball Coach

HoweT@smabears.org

Glenn Davis
Track & Field Coach
DavisG@smabears.org

Hannah Flowers
Varsity Volleyball Coach
FlowersH@smabears.org






San Marcos Academy Athletics


San Marcos Academy offers competitive high school and middle school athletic programs for students of all skill levels. High School athletes will compete this year in district 3-4A through the Texas Christian Athletic League (TCAL), while middle school athletes compete in the Christian Athletic League of San Antonio (CALSA) as well as in the San Marcos PONY League (baseball) and through intramural sports. Among the sports offered at SMA are football (flag football for middle school), volleyball, basketball, soccer, track, cross country, power lifting, swimming, tennis, golf, baseball and softball. Cheerleading is also offered through the Student Activities program. Athletic facilities include a gymnasium, an indoor pool, a football field, lighted tennis courts, a horseback riding arena and barn/stable area, a rifle range, a high and low ropes/challenge course, a fully equipped fitness center, a practice golf course, a Frisbee golf course, and separate fields for soccer, baseball and softball.

San Marcos Academy teams wear green and purple and are known as the “Bears” or “Lady Bears.” Lettermen for each authorized sport are recognized at the end-of-year Athletic Banquet. Also recognized at the Banquet are the “Super Bears,” who letter in three sport and the “Super Grizzly Bears,” who letter in four sports. On occasion, a student will earn the “Five Sport Letterman Award.” Those athletes who twice letter in one or more sports will receive a letter jacket. A student may earn only one letter jacket after entering the ninth grade.

In addition to the Letterman Awards, San Marcos Academy presents several other athletic awards at the Banquet and at the Academy Awards Program:

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award is presented to the MVP in each major high school team sport. In football, the MVP receives the Steve Fordham Award, which was established in 1968 in honor of Steve Fordham, a member of the SMA Class of 1962, who was killed in action in Vietnam.

The Battlin’ Bear Award is also presented by several coaches to recognize those athletes who demonstrate a positive attitude, outstanding dedication and an exemplary work ethic.

The Mannie Foster Award is given to the best all-around male and female athlete to recognize their athletic accomplishments as reflected in the core values of the athletic program. Those values are character, effort, teamwork, and attitude.

The Mike Kipp Christian Athlete of the Year recognizes a male and female athlete who best demonstrate distinguished character, as reflected in the life and ministry of Christ.

The Bob Jennings Athletic Director's Award is the highest award offered by the athletics department. It is given to the athlete who best displays character, effort, teamwork, and good attitude.

The SMA Athletic Hall of Fame is an honor for which alumni of the Academy may be considered; for more information on criteria and recipients, visit our Hall of Fame page.
     
2801 Ranch Road 12 | San Marcos, Texas, 78666 |Tel: 512.353.2400